Karen P.  Santa Monica, CA  5/3/2015  -  Review from Yelp

We first learned about J.D. after soliciting recommendations from all of our friends in the Santa Monica and West L.A. areas for buyer's agents. The friend who recommended J.D. had worked with him on purchasing and selling various homes over the course of many years, and was quite complimentary. After deciding not to continue on with agents that we had worked with briefly (we have high standards, and it's hard to find a good agent in L.A.!), we ended up selecting J.D. He really stood out for his professionalism, clear communication skills, responsiveness and knowledgeability. As first time buyers, we were very anxious and wanted to err on the side of comprehensiveness. J.D. came prepared with the information that we needed regarding the entire process (and if he didn't know the answer, he would look into it and get back to us as soon as possible). J.D. is also supremely organized. He had all of the paperwork, inspection materials and DocuSign documents at his fingertips, and was quite proficient with the technical issues and finding errors in the paperwork that the sellers' agent had prepared. (For some reason, the other agents we had worked with could not figure out DocuSign, and forced us to wait around through multiple drafts replete with errors).

J.D. also had a handy list of inspectors and contractors that he had assiduously vetted through his various clients, and updated based on their feedback. As we walked through the house we ended up purchasing, he pointed out issues with the home that we hadn't originally noticed, but that were incredibly prescient. For example, the HVAC unit in our home technically worked upon initial inspection, but proved to be completely inadequate for servicing the house based upon a special "HVAC inspection" that J.D. recommended. (Certainly a big-ticket item in repair negotiations.) He also noticed other flaws that we had completely missed, like the broken seals on the double-pane windows.

From the very beginning, it was clear that J.D. was unwaveringly focused on our being happy with the purchase, and negotiating the best deal possible for us - even if that required extra work and time on his part. He wasn't obsessed with closing the deal for the highest amount possible (a problem with incentives, I noticed, that our earlier 2 agents seemed unable to withstand, and the reason we decided not to continue with them). A dominant theme that emerged from our interactions with J.D. is that he clearly views his role as an agent quite seriously - not just some side job to make extra money quickly. And, he is a genuinely nice, good person (sometimes, in the end, that makes all the difference...). We highly recommend J.D.

 

Wendy P.  Santa Monica, CA  1/22/2015  -  Review from Yelp

I have been working with JD for many years and must say that when a problem arises that could make a deal cancel, he seems to be able to solve the problem and save the transaction. I don't think we have ever had a cancellation when JD is the RE agent. Good going JD!

 

Kate F.  Culver City, CA  10/10/2014  -  Review from Yelp

I have known JD since 2008 when he set me up with a personalized client website to help me find a perfect place. Since then JD has helped me with 3 real estate transactions. He has been not only an efficient realtor, attentive to detail but went above and beyond in communicating the details of the real estate transaction between seller, lender, buyer's agent and HOA. JD's priority and focus is keeping a smooth flow of each transaction. I felt like a friend instead of a client.

 

Alexa J. Brentwood, CA - 10/6/2014  -  Review from Google

J.D. did a terrific job throughout the entire process of selling our home. He knew paperwork process in and out, knew the neighborhood well, and he was willing to really advertise! He knew how to find every positive in the property- and brought that to every potential buyers' attention. In addition, J.D. is very professional and friendly... Would highly recommend.

 

scippix reviewed J.D. Songstad 09/01/2014  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me sell a home

JD knew the market and helped set a great price for our condo. As I'm an out of town seller, he stepped in for things when I couldn't be there. He provided good suggestions for staging as well. His negotiating skills with the buyer were great and I was kept informed at every step. I would use him again.

 

04/20/2014  patricia herman  -  Review from Zillow

Bought a home in 2014 in Santa Monica, CA 90403

I had a great experience with JD. He worked with me on and off over 3 years while I went in and out of the real estate market (moving here, going from renting to selling my previous residence in another state, etc.) and he was incredibly patient and helpful through the whole process. He from the start put me on an automatic email system that regularly gave me MLS listings matching my criteria so I could keep up with what was on the market. And when we got down to writing offers he was clear about and on top of the steps involved and immediately responsive to my and the listing agent's questions. He was very good about giving me the information I needed to make a decision, but left the decisions to me. The market in Santa Monica is highly competitive and I believe that I finally got an offer accepted largely due to JD's advice and his good reputation with the listing agent. Thank you, JD!

 

Scott B.  South Bay, CA  11/5/2013  -  Review from Yelp

J.D. has earned the title "MrWestside" honestly: he finds the best properties, and has an encyclopedic knowledge of the best neighborhoods. But that doesn't tell the full story.

Having recently purchased a property with J.D. as our realtor, we were constantly amazed at his mastery of arcane paperwork details. We were very confident in his knowledge of the process and ability to guide us through to the end. He has good common sense and is always attentive and available to help.

That's not even the best part. The best part is he's extremely patient, especially when he didn't have to be.

My wife and I highly recommend J.D. Songstad if you're buying on the Westside.

 

Katisse reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/19/2013  -  Review from Trulia

We worked together

A true professional! Helpful, knowledgeable, and patient with us for the entire process of buying our home. Thanks, JD!

 

Dr. Vince Honrubia reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/15/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

Number one!

 

Joe Paunovich reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/15/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

JD is incredible, he goes above and beyond! I was indecisive about the area I wanted to buy and he was patient and extremely helpful in showing me many wonderful properties, as well as explaining the pros and cons of different areas. JD is not just looking for a quick deal, he wants to build long term relationships.

I highly recommend you give JD the opportunity to represent you!

 

badbunpix reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/14/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me sell a home

Good guy, hardworking, first-rate Realtor.

 

brittanyblackie reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/14/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

JD really helped me, a first time home buyer, learn the ropes quickly when buying my first home. He was patient and level headed and a tough negotiator. Thanks JD!

 

Teri Hausman reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/07/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me sell a home

JD goes the extra mile and is a great agent for buying or selling.

 

bkhakh reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/07/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

JD was awesome! He was simply brilliant at answering our questions. He made everything super easy. I highly recommend him. 

 

Molisa reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/07/2013  -  Review from Trulia

We worked together

J.D. does an exceptional job of listening to his clients, ensuring their best interest is always his priority. He is a tough negotiator and is extremely knowledgeable about the intricacies and complexities of Real Estate transactions. He is my go to resource for all things real estate.

 

chris_tilly reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/07/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

J.D. helped us buy a house in Venice. He was tremendously helpful. It turned out that at crucial moments we were traveling around the country and even out of the country (we signed some key documents in a small town in Vermont), and he helped us navigate that. Plus just all the basics of inspection, negotiation, paperwork requirements One of our most positive experiences with a realtor ever. I would definitely recommend him.

 

Megan Schwartz reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/06/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Other J.D. was the selling agent for the home we ended up purchasing. He was very helpful and highly responsive. We had some issues arise a few months after we had purchased the home, and J.D. was quick to get back to us and help us resolve the issue. Although we weren't his clients, he seems like he would be great to work with and we'll definitely keep him in mind, if/when the time comes to sell our home.

 

surfpix7 reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/05/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

JD was representing the seller where I was the buyer, but he was very involved as a selling agent as I was from out of town. He was very helpful in providing condo association information and making the purchase smooth and facilitated issues with the departing tenant. Good Job!

 

veronicio reviewed J.D. Songstad 05/01/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me sell a home

JD is an excellent realtor. He has sold 2 homes for my family and also helped us through 3 purchases. His marketing strategies, both online and offline, are exceptional. He is detail-oriented, thorough, and easy to work with. I recommend him wholeheartedly!

 

MK reviewed J.D. Songstad 04/30/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

I was really happy working with JD as a first time homebuyer. Though it took a few years for me to find a place that I liked, JD was very patient with me throughout the whole process. His knowledge of the real estate markets in West LA as well as the general home purchase process was invaluable. I would highly recommend JD.

 

Robertdenenberg reviewed J.D. Songstad 04/30/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

My wife and I had the good fortune to work with J.D. in our purchase of a Santa Monica condo. We could not have been more pleased with his professional input with our purchase.

 

Pattyndeasy reviewed J.D. Songstad 04/30/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

JD did a fantastic job helping us find a home. He was patient and thorough with the recommendations he gave us. We've worked with a lot of realtors over the years, but JD really stood out for his commitment in finding us the right home.

 

Morris Feiock reviewed J.D. Songstad 04/30/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me sell a home

JD was suggested by a friend as a person who knew the area in which the property was located and had had experience with similar transactions in that area. I was not disappointed inasmuch as his assessment of the area and his suggestions were accurate and very worthwhile, allowing me to maximize the value of the estate for which I was trustee. He was available at all times for my questions and for advice on all aspects of the sale. He kept me aware of every step as it occurred and helped greatly in setting up a record of all the stages of the transaction. I would not hesitate to recommend him to others and would definitely repeat the comments given above. His assistance definitely made handling the sale of the property much easier for me.

 

Azita Simoni reviewed J.D. Songstad 04/30/2013  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

I found J.D. to be honest, real and a true professional. At the same time, he was very friendly and easy to work with. He was always available and helpful to answer all my questions promptly. He is experienced and knowledgeable. He cared about my situation and made sure that everything runs smoothly. Thanks to him, I was able to get the place that I wanted, at the right time and right price. Great deals are made when you have a great realtor!

 

12/07/2012  por4por  -  Review from Zillow

Bought a home in 2012 in Mar Vista, Los Angeles, CA 90066

As a first time homebuyer, JD Helped through a very difficult and stressful purchase. Throughout the entire transaction he had a very calm demeanor and was always looking out for us. He got us a great deal even in a competitive market. Not just a great deal but an outstanding deal, and he had to work so hard for it! It was a pleasure working with MrWestside!

 

melscottrandall reviewed J.D. Songstad 08/25/2012  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me sell a home

J.D. Songstad is an excellent realtor, first guiding you in preparing your house for a fast and rewarding sale and then so accomplishing the sale. If you follow his advice, he will sell your house for the highest achievable price without delay.

 

Elizabeth reviewed J.D. Songstad 04/08/2012  -  Review from Trulia

Helped me buy a home

JD has helped us purchase two properties. He has been very professional, helpful, and easy to work with. HIs attention to detail during inspections saved us a lot of potential future trouble and a lot of money. We strongly recommend him and would use him again were we to purchase property in the future.

 

Kate reviewed J.D. Songstad 11/14/2011  -  Review from Trulia

We worked together

Buying a home can be stressful and having a good agent makes a difference. It was great working with J.D. on getting our new home. As first time buyers my husband and I relied on him for questions about inspections, agreements, repairs, seller negotiations and all the little details in between. The best part of working with J.D. is his accessibility, no matter the time of day if we had a question or concern we could email or call and he would always get back to us promptly. We highly recommend J.D. because even after the purchase was complete he still found a way to do more and to assist us even further.

 

11/04/2011  smlabuyer  -  Review from Zillow

Sold a Condo home in 2006 in Santa Monica, CA

JD is thorough on both the selling and buying process. He is very responsive and knows the ins and outs of his business. He is skilled at using the Internet to help sell a client's home or to help them easily locate the home of their dreams. I recommend him 100%!

 

11/02/2011 - olive77 - Sold a home in 2006 in Mar Vista, Los Angeles, CA 90064.

My husband and I ran into JD at an open house when we were in the market to buy and he immediately struck us as someone we wanted to work with. We definitely did not want a high pressure type real estate agent since we were first time home buyers and JD was the perfect fit. He had a lot of resources, knowledge and experience to share and walked us through the process with patience. He is extremely reliable and responsive.

 

11/02/2011 - Steveham - Bought a Condo home in 2004 in Santa Monica, CA.

We had a somewhat unique association with JD. We were out of town buyers. We owned a condo in NYC while our son was going to school out there. When he moved to the LA area we decided to sell the NYC condo and purchase one in LA, where our son could rent from us. We found JD Songstad online, and from the first contact we knew we had chosen the right broker. His knowledge of the areas in which we were interested was excellent, and the long distance service he provided was masterful. Our son met up with JD and they toured some properties (based on our criteria) and by the time we were able to fly down to LA, JD had a list of 10 or 12 properties, all of which fit our criteria to the last detail. He did not try to upsell us and was invaluable in advising us on the right cities and neighborhoods. We probably spent 6 hours viewing these properties with JD before we made our choice of a property in Santa Monica. JD is an energetic and well organized broker. His email newsletter keeps us informed about the LA market, which for out of state owners, is a great service. Without reservation, we would recommend JD for anyone in the LA area.

 

11/01/2011 - Arizona Ave - Bought a home in 2002 in Santa Monica, CA 90404.

I bought the home my family and I have enjoyed for nine years now with J.D.'s impressive help. J.D. was energetic, organized, positive, creative and altogether exactly what we needed in a real estate agent when moving from the east coast to Santa Monica/LA for the first time. J.D. made sure we saw many types of available homes in the neighborhoods that we wanted to explore, and then made the deal happen when we were ready to make an offer. I'd refer anyone to J.D. - he's an honest, quality agent.

 

Lawrence R.  Carpinteria, CA  10/29/2011  -  Review from Yelp

JD was the first Agent we had a  totally trust. We had a few other Agents during our past three real estate transactions but we were very happy with his friendly personality and treated him like our family. His advice was sincere and professional. We like him a lot and we would use him again when we are ready to sell this property.

 

10/27/2011 - Busy Professional - Bought a home in 2009 in Las Flores, Malibu, CA 90265.

JD is terrific! I have used him for two purchases and he was terrific. He is extremely knowledgeable and adept at finding properties I wouldn't have located myself. He is very easygoing and easy to deal with, yet business-savvy and a strong negotiator with other agents and brokers. We would not be in our current house if he had not alerted us to an opportunity that we would not have considered on our own. Also, he is very flexible. I am a busy professional without a lot of free time. JD is easy to reach by email, phone, social networking site, etc. -- he knows how to make things fast and easy for busy clients without missing any details. He is very thorough, yet very efficient. I would recommend him for anyone looking to buy or sell a property in LA.

 

10/25/2011 - mikezugay - Bought a Condo home in 2011 in Playa Del Rey, CA.

JD helped me find my current house after I spent nearly two years looking all over West Los Angeles. Recently, I began looking for another house in the Marina del Rey area and JD has been instrumental in my pursuit with his detailed knowledge of the area and comp set of recent transactions. We have not pulled the trigger yet, but he has been very skillful in our bidding approach to the many places that I have viewed.

 

10/25/2011 - RamonG - Bought a home in 2003.

J.D. is honest and highly motivated. He has helped me in my search for homes from primary residences to investment properties and he has referred me to very good mortgage brokers. When friends or newbies are struggling to find a place to live, I recommend them to J.D. He is very responsive and open to personal interests and preferences.

 

10/25/2011 - Ozzi - Sold a Condo home in 2011 for approximately $375K in Westwood, Los Angeles, CA.

I found J.D. to be honest, real and a true professional. At the same time, he was very friendly and easy to work with. He was always available and helpful to answer all my questions promptly. He is experienced and knowledgeable. He cared about my situation and made sure that everything runs smoothly. Thanks to him, I was able to get the place that I wanted, at the right time and right price. Great deals are made when you have a great realtor!

 

10/24/2011  Damomccann  -  Review from Zillow

Sold a home in 2008 in Westchester, Los Angeles, CA 90045

JD is a great agent. I've used him on 5 transactions since 2002. He knows the local market very well, has always been honest with me (e.g. when my house was worth less than I thought, he told me so!), is always on top of the details of a transaction, is great at follow-up, and has always been available to answer the questions that come up during a transaction. Most importantly, I never doubt that looking after my best interests is his #1 priority. One more thing - he's not the slippery used car salesman type that so many agents are.

 

Mic L.  Pacific Palisades, CA  8/14/2011  -  Review from Yelp

J.D. was not only very capable and professional in finding the right house for our family but always approachable and available for scheduling viewings even at short-notice. He has the gift to listen to his clients, quickly grasping what his clients are looking for and making the right choices so that the precious time of his clients is not being wasted. When it came to the final buy decision J.D. was extremely persistent to get the documents into place and contracts executed.

We highly recommend J.D. when it comes to finding a new home at the Westside and look forward to get him involved next time we move again.

 

Avi K.  Los Angeles, CA  5/31/2011  -  Review from Yelp

I found J.D. to be honest, real and a true professional. At the same time, he was very friendly and easy to work with. He was always available and helpful to answer all my questions promptly. He is experienced and knowledgable. He cared about my situation and made sure that everything runs smoothly. Thanks to him, I was able to get the place that I wanted, at the right time and right price. Great deals are made when you have a great realtor!

 

Josie D.  West Los Angeles  9/27/2010  -  Review from Yelp

My absolutely Most Favorite Realtor! He totally deserves the MFR award!

I have been condo shopping for the past 2 months on the west side... JD has been more than helpful. Since I am staying in a decent place that is 7 minutes (including traffic + traffic light) away from work right now, I am really not trying too hard to look for a place.

However, JD has been super patient with me. From my random desire to get a one bedroom and expanded the scope to a 2 bedroom, JD made sure every place we see has parking spot (Josie's #2 Priority), nice bathroom, awesome closet... and most importantly located within 10 minutes away from my work!!!!

JD is friendly, funny and just fantastic to go condo shopping with. He is honest, knowledgeable, and often give good suggestions. He would remind me on things I have absolutely not thought about. Absolutely detail - oriented! While I still haven't made up my mind yet, I am getting really really close on deciding on a place. Choices choices... life is full of choices.

It's tough enough to choose your future home, don't spend more time to choose your agent. JD is your man!